Sussex v Kent at Pyecombe

IMG 1510

On Thursday 31st August Sussex Golf Captains entertained Kent Golf Captains at Pyecombe in a long standing fixture. After a light lunch the battle commenced.

After going 3 down early, our Captain, Brian Street and Pyecombe's club captain, Gary Hunt, managed to get back to level at the turn. Nip and tuck then all the way to the 18th when a par from Brian won his match 1 up.

The second match was close until the very end when our pair from Ifield. Neil Smith and Richard Cowlard, lost 3/1. 

Next our 'youngsters’, Mark Terry and Nigel Wates, gained revenge over the same pair as last year with a fine 4 & 3 victory including 3 birdies.

Santa [Dave Wilkins] and Nigel Land started like a train going 3 up at the turn but then fading to all square on the 18th tee but prevailed on the last to win 1up.

The fifth pair out, Peter Snook and Ian Potter, never strayed from 1up or 1 down until the 17th, when a par from Ian, gave them a 2/1 victory

John Payne and Dave Kemp struggled against the young pair from Kent and despite receiving several shots lost 2 down. 

The 7th match featured our low handicapper Terry Vanhinsbergh with Harold Knight , known as the long and short of it!  Despite Terry giving 28 shots to the opposition and being 3 down at the turn, they managed to pull it back to a 2/1 victory.

Our 8th pair, Alan Butcher and Mike Sandford, were going well at 2 up and then seemed to blame the showery weather and the opposition feeding them sweets to fall away and lose 4/3. 

The 9th match would seem like a walkover with our pair, Tim Ingram and Nigel Evans, winning by a 'dogs licence'. Then you realised they were ganging up on one Kent man due to a no-show. 

Our last pair, Steve Tigg [another Ifield man- theres a theme hear somewhere] and John Kinnear starting well to go 2 up, but were pegged back at the turn. The back nine contained 8 halves but unfortunately one hole to Kent to give them a close win.

Overall a splendid win 6-4 for Sussex which pleased our Captain no end. A good meal followed, to include lots of chatter, reflecting the 'great spirit' shown all day by both sides.

Sussex 6 - Kent 4

Ian Potter


The Captains 

Brian Street (SGC) Gary Hann (Pyecombe GC) and William Albery (Kent)

SLC-SGA Invitation to our Committee at Worthing

IMG 1505

The President of the Sussex Lady Captains and Secretaries Golf Association invites our Committee every year to a game with the ladies as a thank you for entertaining them at our annual match.

This year’s President is Wendy Shergold from Wothing Golf Club.  Wendy decided on a better ball competition off 90% handicap.

The winners with 40 points were Tony Bauckham of West Sussex and Jane Price from Willingdon.  Second also with 40 points were Dave Harmer (Willingdon) & June Garland (Worthing) THird with 37 points were Dave Wilkins (Sweetwoods Park) and Lil Cummins (Cowdray Park)

Our President, Eddie Noyce thanks Wendy for their kind hospitality and gave her a engraved vase to mark the occasion.

Wendy gave a special thank you to Lesley Talbot who stood in at short notice for Nanette Meeten who was unwell.

IMG 0173

Patron’s Day at Crowborough Beacon

IMG 3373

David Smythe (L) & Harry Reed (R) Winners of Patron’s Day with our Patron, David Harmer

Patron’s Day at Crowborough Beacon Golf Club is always a popular event and this year was no exception.  60 pairs were playing for the Patron’s Day Cup at this fine course presented in excellent condition.

The Captains receives a warm welcome from Crowborough and this along with the excellent catering by Richard Townsend and his capable team makes it a perfect day out.

CBGC Captain Richard Hemsley welcomed everybody before prize giving and our Patron, David Harmer presented the prizes.

The winners with 45 points were David Smythe and Harry Reed of Cottesmore.

Runners Up with 44 point (22 back 9) were Colin Bennett and Ray Akehurst from Dale Hill.

Third with 44 points (20 points back 9) were Mick Stacey and Trevor Pigram of Cottesmore and fourth another Cottesmore pair, Nigel Powell & Ed Whiffin with 43 points.

Nearest the pin on the 6th was won by Andy Rogers of Dyke Golf Club and on the 13th by Stuart Wallace of Worthing.

Thanks went to Honorary Secretary,  Mark Terry for his organisation and to the starters, Ian Jaggard & John Benoy.  Ian also kindly helped Mark by checking scorecards.

Queen’s Jubilee at John O'Gaunt

IMG 1487

                  The victorious team - Society of London Golf Captains

This competition is held annually features teams of eight from Bedfordshire, Essex, Hampshire, Kent, London, Oxfordshire & Sussex Golf Captains.

Initially started in 1977 it has grown to be one of the important fixtures of the Golf Captains organisations.

Bedfordshire were the hosts this year and the event held at the picturesque John O’Gaunt Golf Club near Biggleswade.

The teams of eight play an individual Stableford off full handicap with the best six scores to count.

The winers with 190 were the London Golf Captains

2nd Kent 184

3rd Beds 180

4th Sussex 175

5th Essex 167

6th Oxfordshire 167

7th Hampshire 164


                                            The Sussex Team

The Gordon Clark Cup - Cowdray Park

IMG 3360

Gordon Clark presents his trophy to Reg Auchterlonie of Pyecombe

Part of the 50th Anniversary celebrations in 2014 was to introduce a Past Captains and Presidents’ Golf Day.  The following year Gordon Clark from the Nevill (Captain of the SGC 1998) donated a wonderful trophy.

It has become customary to hold this event at the SGC Captain’s home Club therefore this year it was played at Cowdray Park.

Unfortunately the weather was atrocious.  The constant rainfall resulted in flooded greens and unpleasant conditions for golf.  At lunch, Captain Brian Street decided that an 11 hole competition would take place playing 1 to 7 and then 15 to 18 with the view of reducing the time exposed to the elements.

21 Captains started and most finished having tried to putt through surface water which was evident on most of the greens.

The winner with 21 points was Reg Auchterlonie of Pyecombe (SGC Captain in 2004.  In 2nd place with 19 points was Harold Knight of Eastbourne Downs and 3rd, Committee man Tony Bauckham of West Sussex.

The evening meal was bought forward and was enjoyed by all.  The Captain very generously provided the Port which was much appreciated.

Next year the event will be hosted by Peter Ward at Brighton & Hove Golf Club.

     © Sussex Golf Captains 2019