Member’s Invitation at East Brighton

IMG 3674

Captain, Peter Ward with Nigel Powell of Cottesmore GCC

On arrival at this year’s invitation Captains and their guests were advised about the difficulties East Brighton have experienced with the infestation of Leatherjackets which was not helped by the recent banning of the pesticide that normally gets rid of them.  This resulted in 6 greens being partly roped off as GUR and the 17th being a temporary green.  

However, the green staff had worked extremely hard to get the course up and running with acceptable surfaces and well defined fairways. This was noted and respected by all participants as a fine effort under difficult circumstances.

The winners with an impressive 47 points winning The Arthur Holder Trophy were Nigel Powell and his guest Andrew Peate from Cottesmore Golf and Country Club.  A perfect card of just 1 over gross including 5 birdies secured the win over the three pairs with 46 points.

Second with 46 points and a back 9 of 26 were Ed Viney of Crowbororugh Beacon and his guest Nigel Mobbs of Sherborne.  Ed now lives and played at Sherborne and Nigel is no stranger to the Sussex Golf Captains as he is currently Captain of the Dorset Golf Captains.

Third also with 46 points were our Vice Captain, Phil Williamson and Martin Jones of Haywards Heath Golf Club.  They had 25 on the back 9.

Fourth place was David Hirons and Chris Strudwick of Cowdray Park with 46 points and 24 on the back 9.

Nearest the pin on the 7th went to Micky Ray of Dale Hill, guest of Richard Bevan (last year’s winner) and nearest the pin on the 16th was won by Keith Hayward of Copthorne Golf Club.

Club Captain, Chris Bryan welcomed everybody and thanked all for their understanding about the course problems.  His also had to address a small problem of the boiler shutting down which resulted in a few cold showers for some of the unlucky tail-enders!

Thanks went to our Starter Joe Angella, Brian Street and Ian Jaggard who helped with Registration and cards.

Mark Terry

     © Sussex Golf Captains 2019