President’s Day at Ifield

IMG 3780

President, Neil Smith presents the salver to Martin Sutton of Copthorne

The balmy summer heat continues…

President’s Day at Ifield was a great success albeit  a slightly smaller field than first published as there were numerous withdrawals due to injury.

A two tee start got things on the way promptly with the help of the two starters, Jane Covey and Alan White. This along with ball spotters, Nadine Tigg and Mike Dearsley on the 10th ensured all tee shots were quickly found.  Our thanks go to all the Ifield members who helped out on the day.

The winner with 40 points was Martin Sutton of Copthorne Golf Club who claimed that this was his first win ever with the Sussex Golf Captains!

Second with 39 points with 24 on the back 9 was Abe Hill of East Brighton.  Third, also with 39 and 21 on the back 9 was SGC Captain, Peter Ward of Brighton & Hove.

Fourth - again with 39 points and 20 on the back 9 was Bob Walker of Copthorne.  Peter Snook of Haywards Heath was fifth with 38 points.

Nearest the pins were;

4th Kevin Hardy (Eastbourne Downs)

6th Terry Vanhinsbergh (Cottesmore)

9th David Schwartz (Pyecombe)

13th Chris Adamson (Cottesmore)

17th Peter Snook (Haywards Heath)

Just before prize giving everyone was treated to Jon Earl’s famous ball sweep and entertaining affair and then Club Captain, Peter Frake gave everyone a belated welcome.

Neil Smith went on to thanks the green staff for preparing the course in great condition and the caterers for a super buffet lunch.

Thanks must go also to Ian Jaggard for assisting Mark Terry with the scorecards.

IMG 3777

The legendary ball sweep

     © Sussex Golf Captains 2019